PAD 30: Bury the (Blank)

Whoo-hoo! We’ve made it!! Today is Day 30 of the Poem-A-Day Challenge, and now I post my thirtieth poem. I’ve made up all from my “sick days,” and I finish with the final prompt of the challenge. Today’s prompt is to finish the phrase “Bury the (Blank).” Fill in the blank and make it your title. Go from there. Of course that phrase leads one to all sorts of introspection. Bury the Guilt, Bury the Pain, Bury the Hatchet all pop in one’s mind immediately, but I wanted something different. It took some time, but here it is.

Thank you all for joining me on my PAD Challenge journey. It was invigorating to write a poem a day. My creative juices are certainly flowing. I am already looking forward to next year’s challenge (though I certainly won’t wait that long for another blog post or another poem).

Bury the Remote

Turn off the TV;

Get off the couch;

Spring is sensational.

Walk the course;

Hike the hills;

Breath in the blossoms;

Soak up the sun.

The bear awakens from a

Winter slumber, and

Stretches his limbs before

Sauntering forth in

Search of food and friends.

He does not hit snooze,

Or sit on his couch watching

Reruns of Castle or of others

Playing the games that

We should be playing. So,

Bury the remote

Beneath the couch cushions.

Lace up the sneakers;

Leash up the pup;

Let spring awaken

The bear within.

Leave a Reply

