What Do You Do to Feel More Creative?

I came across this video today when a friend posted it to Facebook: What Do You Do to Feel More Creative? Take a gander before reading on. It runs for less than three minutes.

I found it very interesting listening to people who make their living on their creative powers discuss what they do to feel more creative. It made me think about my own creative interests, and how nice it would be to make a living out of them (or so I think). What do I do to feel more creative? I think my answer is varied. I agree with most of the individuals interviewed. Sometimes I need to get out–of the house, of my head, of my own way. Other times, I need to see the world from a different vantage point. But the view I agree with the most, and the least, is the need to break routine.

Breaking away from routine can spur creativity, but we also need routine to follow through on the inspiration. Even when I am run down or experiencing a “dry spell,” I find that I still manage to keep painting because I have a class that I go to every week. The routine keeps me going to the studio and putting paint on canvas or charcoal on paper. Sometimes we need to just power through the dry spell; routine helps one do that. I think that is why my writing, my first creative love, has taken a hit recently. My work, which I love, keeps me busy and involves much reading and writing, but that writing is commenting on student papers. When I get home, I am tired, and I don’t have a regular writing time or space. I need a routine to keep my own writing flowing.

And let’s not forget, without routine, there is nothing to break away from!

So, dear readers, what do you do to feel more creative?

4 thoughts on “What Do You Do to Feel More Creative?

  1. I like to engage in a mindless activity, something that doesn’t require concentration, and just let my mind wonder where it will. Makes boring tasks (like washing dishes!) feel creatively productive and energizing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

