PAD 9: Hide Out

Today’s prompt is to write a hide out poem. Thinking about where I hide out, I was reminded of a time in college when I needed to hide out from my friends in order to complete the seven papers I had due in two weeks time and study for four finals. This is my story.

Hide Out

 

Second semester

Sophomore year

Chicken Pox

Infirmary

Quarantine

Itch, Itch

Little Purple Pills

Sleep

Sleep

Sleep

 

No notice sent

To professors,

Just absences noted,

Until explanation given

With marks still

Visible,

Extensions granted.

 

End of semester

Seven papers

Four finals

Two weeks.

 

Begin work,

Library visits,

Crowded rooms

Hum with whispers.

Move to desk in

Dorm room;

Resounds with activity.

 

Hide out

In the choir room.

Concerts done,

It is abandoned.

Quiet

Space

Peace

Work accomplished.

 

And then,

Two industrious,

Clever,

Intelligent,

Caring

Friends

Rescue me

From my hide out

To rejoin the world

Renew my energy

With a special dinner

At a cafe

With a rainbow

On the ceiling.

 

I can see

The end

To the pot of gold

That is

Friendship.

Leave a Reply

