Opening Line Challenge

Opening lines. We writers are well aware of the importance of opening lines, and of the few great ones that bandied about, epitomes of the genre:
Dickens, of course: ” It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.”
Austen: “It is s a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”

I could go on, but I digress from my main purpose. Today is December 1st, and I forgot to put this month’s train pass in my wallet. On the way in to work, I received a courtesy pass, but coming home, I had to pay. So to, I noticed, did many others on the train. So, I said to the conductor as he punched my ticket,

“I think December took many people by surprise today.”

He agreed and went on his busy way, and I was left with what sounds to me like a great opening line.

So I challenge you, my friends, to finish the thought. Using fiction, non-fiction, poetry, or even drama, write a post or a comment starting with “December took many people by surprise today.” (We’ll leave off the “I think” so you can choose your own point of view.) Write in the comments here or on your own blog with a pingback.

I hope many of you will participate. I look forward to reading your works!!!

Leave a Reply

