Crochet and Mishaps

**UPDATE: The app decided to publish this post before I was finished with it. As I was writing, I began musing about the seeming frivolity of this post and what message I really hope to convey. Then, I guess the subway bumped a bit and maybe I hit publish without realizing it. And voila, my unfinished thoughts floated out into the world. Here’s where we begin.

 

It’s been a while since I posted about crocheting, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been stitching away.

Unfortunately,  I ran into some trouble recently.  I was trying out a new pattern for a different style of baby blanket than I usually make.  It is a double stand pattern, using two colors.  I chose a cream and navy, which while still traditionally blue for the baby boy for whom it is intended, navy rather than baby boy blue changes it up a bit.

The pattern is easy, or so I thought,  and I was moving along nicely.  T wo skeins (of each color) in I laid it out to measure and decide on border options. And that’s when I noticed that the pattern wasn’t as easy as I thought.  Stitches had been dropped and picked up rather randomly, abs the edges were a mess.  There was no salvation for it. In the words of my mother-in-law,  “Damn, I’ve got to rip it.”

Out it came. All four skeins.  Which then had to be balled up again before I could begin anew. Lionel looked on in anticipation.

One thought on “Crochet and Mishaps

  1. Pingback: Crochet and Mishaps 2 | CRCreateADay

Leave a Reply

